Learn

2026 Team USA Privy Silver Eagle: What We Know So Far

The Team USA privy Silver Eagle is a 2026 American Silver Eagle the US Mint never offered for sale. It was presented on August 6, 2026 at a White House reception for the athletes who competed at the Milano Cortina Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, and the Mint has never announced its mintage, its finish, or which mint struck it. The paperwork in the box answers two of those three, and we think the answer to the third is 403. An example has since been listed on Pure, so this post covers what the coin is, what the mark looks like on that example, and how it fits next to the other four 2026 Silver Eagles. It gets updated as the Mint discloses more.

What Is the Team USA Privy Silver Eagle?

It is a standard-spec American Silver Eagle, one troy ounce of .999 fine silver with a $1 face value, carrying a small TEAM USA privy mark on the obverse. A privy mark is a tiny design element added to a coin's die for one issue, separate from the mintmark, so a coin with one can be told apart from the regular strike at a glance. The Mint has used them on Silver Eagles since 2024.

What sets this one apart is how it left the Mint. Every other 2026 Silver Eagle went out through the bullion dealer network or the Mint's own web store. This one was handed to athletes.

Who Received It, and When

The reception was on August 6, 2026. U.S. Treasurer Brandon Beach posted about it, describing American Eagle silver coins with a Team USA privy mark given to Team USA's 2026 Olympians and calling the coins a tribute to the athletes and to the craftsmanship of the Mint. CoinNews picked it up on August 8.

Nobody has said how many athletes received one. No recipient list or count has been published by the Treasurer or the Mint. Our working figure for the number struck is 403, covered below, which puts a ceiling on how many could have been handed out.

What the Team USA Privy Mark Looks Like

On Pure's listed example, the mark is a small rectangular cartouche in the right obverse field. It reads TEAM on the top line in small letters and USA below in larger ones, the same lockup as the Team USA wordmark. It sits just above IN GOD WE TRUST and below the R, T, and Y of LIBERTY, in the open field to the right of Walking Liberty's flag. That is close to where the Mint put the 2025 Eagle privy, which NGC describes as sitting above IN GOD WE TRUST.

In the listing photos the mark is roughly the height of the lettering in IN GOD WE TRUST, and on a mirrored proof field it reads as a frosted rectangle before you can make out the letters.

The rest of the obverse is the regular 2026 design: Adolph Weinman's Walking Liberty, a single 2026 date at the bottom, and Weinman's initials at the hem. The single date is a useful tell. The 2026-W proof and enhanced uncirculated coins carry the dual date 1776 ~ 2026 with a Liberty Bell privy; this coin carries neither.

The coin sits in a capsule inside the Mint's standard black American Eagle clamshell case, with a printed Team USA sleeve over a plain Mint box. The paperwork in that box turns out to answer two of the open questions, covered below.

Proof Finish and Mintmark

The Mint did not state the finish or the mintmark. CoinNews lists both as undisclosed, and the Mint had not added anything as of late September.

The coin on Pure is a proof: mirrored fields, frosted devices, the box says so in print. The reverse carries a P mintmark to the right of Emily Damstra's landing eagle, below the wing, above the E PLURIBUS UNUM inscription. A recipient who posted their complete set on the Collectors Universe forum on August 25 photographed the same P mintmark and, more usefully, the Mint's own specification card from the box. That card is the closest thing to official data that exists, and it is covered in the next section.

One thing this rules out. The 2026 Congratulations Set also holds a 2026-P proof Silver Eagle with a single date and no anniversary privy. The Team USA coin looks like that coin with the cartouche added, which fits the athlete coins being struck at Philadelphia on proof dies, though nothing official confirms it.

What the Certificate of Authenticity Says

The coin ships with a Mint certificate and a folded specification card, and a recipient photographed both. The certificate is titled "2026 Team USA American Eagle One Ounce Silver Proof Coin," signed by Mint Director Paul Hollis, and states that the coin was minted and issued under the authority of 31 U.S.C. § 5112 and is legal tender of the United States. The specification card reads, in the Mint's own format:

Line

Printed value

Denomination

$1

Finish

Proof

Composition

99.9% silver

Silver weight

1.000 troy oz

Diameter

1.598 inches (40.60 mm)

Edge

Reeded

Mint

Philadelphia

Mint mark

P

Privy mark

TEAM USA

The card credits Adolph A. Weinman for the obverse and Emily Damstra (designer) with Michael Gaudioso (medallic artist) for the reverse, the same credits as every Type 2 Silver Eagle. It does not state a mintage, and neither does the certificate. The outer sleeve reads TEAM USA, 2026 AMERICAN EAGLE ONE OUNCE SILVER PROOF COIN, MILANO - CORTINA, with a plain United States Mint box inside it and a 2026 copyright line on the back. There is no product code on the packaging, which is the one place every Mint retail product carries one.

So the two things the Mint never announced, finish and mintmark, are printed on the card in the box. What is still nowhere in print is the number struck.

How Many Were Made

The Mint also has not said whether any coins were struck beyond the ones presented on August 6, or whether any of those will ever be released.

Our understanding is that 403 were struck. That is Pure's own working figure, not a Mint statement: the Mint has not published a mintage, the certificate does not carry one, and the specification card does not either. We are stating it plainly because it is what we believe to be true, and we will replace it the moment the Mint prints a number. Figures circulating on collector forums and on Reddit are not sourced to anyone and we are not repeating them.

If the Mint publishes a number, it replaces ours here, with the source.

Can You Buy It From the US Mint?

No. The coin is not in the Mint's 2026 American Eagle lineup, it has no product code, and no release has been announced. It was presented, not sold. For now, the only way one reaches a collector is if a recipient decides to part with it.

How It Compares to the Other 2026 Silver Eagles

Five Silver Eagles carry a 2026 date. Four of them have published specs.

Variety

Mintmark

Finish

Date

Privy mark

Mintage limit

How it was sold

2026 bullion

None

Bullion

2026

None

No limit

Authorized dealers

2026-W proof (26EA)

W

Proof

1776 ~ 2026

Liberty Bell 250

500,000

Mint web store

2026-W enhanced uncirculated (26EG)

W

Enhanced uncirculated

1776 ~ 2026

Liberty Bell 250

125,000

Mint web store

2026-P proof, Congratulations Set

P

Proof

2026

None

60,000

Mint web store, in the set only

2026 Team USA privy

P (spec card)

Proof (spec card)

2026

TEAM USA

Not published; we think 403

Presented to athletes, not sold

The Liberty Bell 250 privy is the one most people will run into this year, since it is on both West Point coins. The Team USA coin shares nothing with those two beyond the date and the metal. Its closest sibling is the Congratulations Set coin. The 2026-P Congratulations coin was itself a story when it launched in February, as the first Philadelphia proof Silver Eagle since 2000. The Team USA coin appears to be a second Philadelphia proof in the same year, the difference being a cartouche and the fact that you cannot order it.

How to Tell a Real One

Start with the numbers that never change. By statute, a Silver Eagle weighs 31.103 grams, measures 40.6 millimeters across, and is .999 fine silver. A scale and calipers catch the crude fakes.

Then the strike. A proof Silver Eagle has deep mirror fields and frosted, matte devices, with a sharp line between the two. Under a loupe the frost looks like fine sandblasting, and the mirror should be flawless black at an angle. A bullion or uncirculated Eagle with a privy mark drilled or laser-etched into the field afterwards will not have that contrast, and the added mark will usually sit in a slightly disturbed patch of field.

Then the details specific to this coin, as seen on our example: single 2026 date, the TEAM USA cartouche above IN GOD WE TRUST with frosted lettering that matches the rest of the devices, and a P on the reverse. A dual date or a Liberty Bell privy means you are looking at a West Point coin, whatever anyone has added to it.

PCGS and NGC have not, as of September 24, published a label attribution for this coin. NGC did publish special labels for the 2025 Army privy and the other 2025 privies. Until the services catch up, a slab label may say "Team USA Privy," or may just say "2026-P Silver Eagle Proof," depending on who graded it and when.

On Pure, an item goes through our verification before it is marked Pure Qualified and cleared to ship. We test every item ourselves, checking the metal's exact composition, and the coin is inspected before it ships. A buyer sees that status on the listing.

Has One Come Up for Sale?

Yes. An example has been listed on Pure, with photos of the obverse, reverse, case, and box. The listing shows the order book for the coin, meaning any bid a buyer has placed and any ask a seller has set, side by side, so every price on the page was set by a buyer or a seller. If the listed example sells, the page stays up and any later example goes into the same order book.

Privy Marks on Silver Eagles So Far

The Team USA mark is the eighth privy on a Silver Eagle in three years.

Every one of those before it had a press release, a mintage limit, and a sales channel on day one, and the Team USA coin had none of the three.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many Team USA privy Silver Eagles were made?

We think 403. The Mint has not published a mintage, and nothing in the box states one, so treat 403 as Pure's working figure until the Mint confirms or corrects it.

Yes, at $1, the same as every American Silver Eagle. That face value is set by the same federal statute that fixes the coin's weight and fineness.

Does the Team USA privy Silver Eagle have a mintmark?

Yes, P for Philadelphia. The Mint never announced it, but the specification card packed with the coin prints "Mint: Philadelphia, Mint mark: P," and the coin listed with us carries the P on the reverse.

Is the Team USA coin in any 2026 Mint set?

No. It is not part of the Congratulations Set, the proof set, or any other 2026 product, and it has no product code.

Will the Mint sell the Team USA privy Eagle later?

Unknown. The Mint has not said whether extra coins exist or whether any will be offered. If that changes, the "How Many Were Made" section above will carry the source.

What is a privy mark on a coin?

A small extra design element added to the die for one issue, separate from the mintmark. On Silver Eagles they have marked anniversaries, partnerships, and now an Olympic team, and each one sits in the obverse field.

What to Watch

Three things would change this post: a Mint statement of the mintage; a PCGS or NGC attribution so slab labels stop varying; and a named-athlete sale that puts provenance on the record. For the wider 2026 picture, the semiquincentennial coins guide covers every 250th-anniversary release, and if you hold other Silver Eagles you are thinking of moving, here is how the selling options compare.